BRICS Think Tanks Council established at Durban University of Technology

BRICS Think Tanks Council established at Durban University of Technology

2013, March 11 – BRICS experts signed a declaration of intent to establish the BRICS Think Tanks Council (BTTC)

Signed during the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) Academic Forum which is currently underway at the DUT Ritson Campus as part of the Fifth BRICS Summit, the declaration serves to indicate the common intention of BRICS academia to enhance co-operation in research, knowledge sharing, capacity building as well as policy advice.

Elaborating on the motive behind the signing of this declaration, Gwebinkundla Qonde, Higher Education and Training Department Director General, said this declaration encourages collaborations amongst academics to help all five countries to develop good policies in terms of the developmental agenda.

BTTC comprises of five research centres representing each of the BRICS states. The Council will form a platform for the exchange of ideas among researchers, academia and think tanks while also bearing the responsibility of convening the BRICS Academic Forum. South Africa is currently represented by the Human Sciences and Research Council (HSRC) which, according to the Department of Higher Education and Training Acting Deputy Director General Dr Diane Parker, might be replaced by another research organisation.

The policy recommendations and guidance provided by the council will be presented to BRICS leaders for further consideration. More details on the role of co-operation will be elaborated at another meeting scheduled to take place in October 2013. The BRICS Academic Forum ends today (Wednesday, 13 March 2013).